Art Project

 

I am always looking for new ways to show my art. The other day I decided to transfer three of my waterfall pictures on pieces of wood. My friend, Nate, showed me how to do one the other day and I attempted this one on my own.

You need the following:

  • Liquitex Professional Matte Gel
  • Mod Podge (I use matte but there is also gloss)
  • A piece of wood. I got mine for $8 at Michaels
  • A foam brush (can get these super cheap anywhere)
  • The picture of your choice printed on a laser printer inverted.
    • If you open the picture in Paint you just rotate the image horizontal to get it inverted.

 

  1. Cover the front of the wood in the matte gel with the foam brush. Get a good amount on it.

DIY -4

 

2. While it is still wet, place the printed picture face down on the piece of wood and use a credit card or REI gift card to get all the air bubbles out. DIY -5

3. Let it dry for 24 hours…. DIY -6

4. Once it is dry get a wet rag and start rubbing. DIY -7

5. The paper should start coming off. It makes a mess. DIY -8

6. Make sure you get all the paper off. It might take some hard rubbing.  DIY -9

7. After all the paper is off, cover it all in Mod Podge and let it dry.DIY -10

8. To hang it, I put saw tooth picture hangers on the back. You can get them in the bracket section at Walmart. DIY -13

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. That turned out beautiful! I love the waterfall being displayed on wood!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the instructions…they were good. I bet John and Anna will want to do this. 🙂
    I absolutely love your picture!

    Like

Leave a Reply

